COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Advisory: If you believe you have been exposed to COVID-19 or are experiencing symptoms, please contact your primary care physician, 68Nurse or the BasinMD app to seek guidance.  
For more information and resources regarding COVID-19, visit For vaccine information, visit

Midland County COVID-19 Statistics here.           Hospital COVID-19 Statistics  here *Last updated on   7/23/2021 at    9:56:26 AM


Midland Health Planning & Marketing 
(432) 221-1185


Midland Health Awarded Level lll Maternal Designation

Posted On: 7/8/2021

Midland Memorial Hospital has been designated as a Level III Maternal Facility by the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS). The Level III designation is awarded to hospitals that provide comprehensive care for complex medical, surgical and obstetrical conditions for pregnant and postpartum patients.

“This designation is a testament to our community that we have the expertise to provide quality and compassionate care to every mother and baby that comes in our doors,” says Tonia Burtenshaw, MSN, RNC-MNN, Director of Women's and Children's Services.

“I am incredibly proud of our team for this accomplishment and commitment to the highest level of care right here in Midland," says Melissa Weems, MSN, RNC, L&D Clinical Manager.

To earn Level III designation, facilities must demonstrate their ability to:

  • provide care for pregnant and postpartum patients with low risk conditions to significant complex medical, surgical and/or obstetrical conditions that present a high risk of maternal morbidity or mortality;
  • ensure access to consultation to a full range of medical and maternal subspecialists and surgical specialists, and behavioral health specialists;
  • ensure capability to perform major surgery on-site;
  • have physicians with critical care training available at all times to actively collaborate with Maternal Fetal Medicine physicians and/or Obstetrics and Gynecology physicians with obstetrics training and privileges in maternal care;
  • have skilled personnel with documented training, competencies and annual continuing education, specific for the population served;
  • facilitate transports; and
  • provide outreach education to lower level designated facilities, including the Quality Assessment and Performance Improvement (QAPI) process.
back to top