DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses

daisy award for nurses
The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses recognizes the special work that nurses do every day to go above and beyond for their patients. It was established by the DAISY Foundation – which stands for diseases attacking the immune system – in memory of J. Patrick Barnes who died from an auto-immune disease known as Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura.

Midland Memorial Hospital presents one special nurse each month with the DAISY Award. All award recipients are recognized at the annual awards presentation in May. The award recipient and the nominating person, provided enough contact information is given, will be notified of the award presentations.

If you would like to nominate a nurse for the DAISY Award, please complete this online nomination form.


2018 DAISY Award Recipients

Emily Montelongo, BSN, RNEmergency DepartmentEricka Medina, MSN, RNResource TeamJamie Gregory, BSN, RNCath Lab Jessica Jones, BSN, RN, QMHP-CS Mental HealthMalorie Elliott, BSN, RNCritical Care UnitShari Evans, BSN, RN, CHPNPalliative Care

2017 DAISY Award Recipients

Amanda Welch, BSN, RNPediatricsAmy Yaws, BSN, RN, CMSRNTotal Joint CenterChristina Drinkwater, BSN, RNCritical Care UnitJose Saucedo, MSN, RN Emergency DepartmentJustin Shanks, BSN, RN, CVRNEmergency DepartmentKarin LeBlanc, RNTotal Joint CenterKellie Hastings, BSN, RNEmergency DepartmentKerri Lee, RNACE UnitNichole Sanchez, RNCritical Care UnitShari Evans, BSN, RN, CHPNOncologyWilma Cline, BSN, RNClinical Operations

2016 DAISY Award Recipients

Alison Tompkins, MSN, RNSame Day SurgeryArmando Rivera, BSN, RNEmergency DepartmentJessica Herrera, RNPACUJinx Stokes, LVN, IBCLC, RLCWomen's and Children'sJustin Aguilar, RNCritical Care UnitKimberly Simmons, RNInterventional RadiologyKristen Nall, BSN, RNAcute Care of the Elderly (ACE) UnitLagaytha Lewallen, BSN, RN, CWOCNWound OstomyLisa Wilkerson, RN, OCNOncologyPam Chesnut, BSN, RNOutpatient Treatment CenterSophia McEwan, BSN, RNLabor and DeliveryWilson Nyamwatta, BSN, RNOncology

2015 DAISY Award Recipients

Aimee Marshall, RNCritical Care UnitCandace Voake, RN Critical Care UnitEstela Villafranco, RNEmergency DepartmentKaitlin Grouse, BSN, RNPost Surgical UnitKathryn Nkwopara, RNOncologyLagaytha Lewallen, BSN, RN, CWOCNWound OstomyLindsey Jones, RNNurseryLynda Sanchez, MSN, RN-BC, CVRNCardiac RehabMissy Lopez, RNPediatricsNellie Monarrez, RNCritical Care UnitScott Turner, RN, ADNCritical Care Unit

If you have questions about the DAISY Award, please contact:

Leah Weatherford
(432) 221-2054


back to top